History instructor shares her past

By Jeremy Nimmo

What is your name?
My name is Denna Clymer.

What is your job here at Crowder College?
I am geography and history teacher.

What past jobs have you had?
I was a prison guard at a juvenile detention center. My worst job had to be working in the fast food industry.

What are your favorite past times/hobbies?
Travel has always been a big part of my life. I also love to cook, read, and I also occasionally sell things online for profit.

Are there any places you have traveled to? If so, where?
I have traveled to many places. I have been to Europe, South Asia, and Central America.

What is your favorite place you have been to?
I would have to say either Peru or Glacier National Park in northern Montana. Both places are the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

Is there anywhere you would like to visit now?
I have always found Africa and the Middle East to be interesting. Maybe when the violence settles down, I will plan a trip there next.

Do you have any favorite kind of food?
There are just too many different kinds of food and recipes, so I don’t have any favorite food in particular.

What is the weirdest thing you have eaten?
I have tried dog under circumstances where I just couldn’t refuse. Not the best moment of my life, but it was an experience nonetheless.

What is your favorite book genre?
I prefer to read nonfiction over fiction because I feel like I gain something from it. As a kid, I enjoyed reading the encyclopedias for fun.

Is English your only language?
No, aside from English, I speak four other languages.

What languages are you fluent in?
I can speak Mandarin Chinese, German, Spanish, and American Sign Language.

What are your life goals?
I would like to learn another language soon. I am interested in some kind of African language, maybe Swahili. I would also like to run a marathon.

What are some of your achievements?
Well I went to college which I find to be a big achievement considering my parents never went. I also never expected to get married and yet that happened.

Are there any awards in your life that made you feel proud?
I have some teaching awards at the University of Arkansas back where I used to work.
Do you play any sports?
Back in high school and college I was really into boxing. I actually titled in three different weight classes.

Do you play any instruments?
Yes, I play the piano, the trumpet, and the violin.

What is your favorite music genre?
My favorite music genre is the baroque era. I just love Bach so much. I think that Bach is arguably the greatest composer of all time.

Ten years from now where do you see yourself?
I have thought about running for public office in the near future, but I’m not sure yet. Generally, I would just like to see myself doing everything that I do now better. I am always stringing to be better at everything I do every day. I dislike being stagnant and always like finding new hobbies.

University or life experience: which prepares you for life?
I believe that both prepare you for life, but having just book smart over street smart won’t get you anywhere. If you have book smart but no social skills, how are you going to share your knowledge with others? A happy median between the two would be best.Clymer.Denna-from UofA website