International student plays soccer for ‘Riders

Q&A: Shadrick Kaphuka

By Shelly Yang
Reporter (Fall 2012)

Tell me a little about yourself.
I am an international student. I was born in Malawi, Africa. When I was in primary school I moved to Coventry, England. I grew up and went to high school there.

How long have you been at Crowder?
Since spring of 2011.

Are you going to school full or part-time?
Currently going full-time.

When is your expected graduation date?
Spring 2013.

What is your major?
I am a business administration major.

What position do you play on the soccer team?
I play right or left mid-fielder.

What do you enjoy most about playing your position?
I get to take on a lot of people, dribbling wise. Sometimes you find yourself in certain positions where you have no other choice but to take on the opponent. You got to do whatever you have to do to entertain, because people like that.

Is there anything that you like to do to get yourself ready for each game?
Nothing in particular, but I pray a lot. I use it throughout my daily life.

Do you have a favorite soccer player?
I don’t necessarily have a favorite player, but do admire Didier Drogba and Andrés Iniesta.

What about favorite team?
Same goes for teams. I don’t have a particular team I like, but do like to watch the Chelsea, Arsenal and Barcelona teams. I watch them play to get some techniques.

What made you decide to come play for Crowder?
I’ve been playing soccer since I was a kid. I didn’t expect myself to play for Crowder. I actually came here for education because my father suggested I come here since my sister also studied here.

Do you play any other sports?
No, just soccer.

What kind of hobbies do you have?
I’m an artistic person. I like to listen to music and draw. Anything from music to visual arts, I find it very interesting.

What kind of music do you like?
Anything that sounds good to my ears, but maybe not so much country.

What do you like to do in your free time?
If I have free time, I like to work out, do homework, or be on the field.

What is your favorite food?
Traditional Malawian food.

What inspires you?
There’s a lot that inspires me, but mostly is my family. What my background is and what my parents went through is what motivates me to get myself into a better position. There’s no point of me having this good of an upbringing and ending up in a lower-class environment.

What would be your dream job?
A huge entrepreneur.

What are your educational goals?
After Crowder, I would still like to continue with my education. I would like to have a bachelors in land economics, but I haven’t purely made up my decision yet.

What do you like most about attending Crowder?
Meeting lots of great people.

Where do you see yourself five years from now?
Anywhere where God takes me and wants me to be. I don’t know. Hopefully a successful place.