Q&A: International baseball player heads for Crowder


By Kenzie Kallio



Freshman international student and business major Samuel Chaput enjoys baseball at Crowder College


How old are you?

I am 20 years old.


Samuel Chaput, Catcher

Where are you from?

I am from Montreal, Canada.

What sport do you play?

I play baseball.

What position do you play and what do you like most about it?

I am a catcher, and my favorite thing about playing there is throwing people out.

What is your favorite thing about baseball?

Hitting, because hitting is so hard that when you make solid contact with the ball it feels so good.

What would you do with $1 million?

I would buy everything that I need in life. Like if I ever needed anything, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy it like I would normally.

What is your favorite Taylor Swift song?

Oh definitely, “You Belong With Me.”

What do you like best about Crowder?

My favorite thing about Crowder is playing baseball every day with my teammates.

If there was a movie produced about your life, who would play you and why?

I would want Adam Sandler to play my life because he is so funny.

What do you like to do besides play baseball?

I like to hang out with friends. I don’t really like spending my time alone, and my friends are the best people. I also like listening to music.

What school would you like to attend after Crowder?

I don’t think I have a preference of which school, but hopefully a Division 1 school with one of the best baseball programs.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Hopefully, playing in the Major Leagues, but if that doesn’t happen then I would be living with my friends and family and maybe my girlfriend.

What is your nickname?

People here at Crowder call me “shampoo” because when they first met me, they couldn’t pronounce my last name.

Who do you consider your best friend?

I don’t think I could choose one but my best friends back in Canada are Hugo, Francis, and Julien. We are always together.

Which do you prefer, Canada or America? Why?

This is a tough question because Canada is my home where all my family is, but I like the baseball in America better. Right now in my life I would choose America.

What’s your favorite food?

My favorite food is ribs. They are so good.

What is your favorite brand of baseball gear?

It depends, in cleats I would choose Nike, but catcher’s gear I would chose Wilson.

Where is your dream place to live?

I would have to choose somewhere warm, like California because it is close enough to home that I could still see my family and I could play baseball all the time.

Who is your favorite band/artist?

One of my favorite artists is Phil Collins because that is my dad’s favorite artist and it reminds me of him.

If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?

I would be a dog because everyone loves dogs, and I like people just like dogs do.