Student comes back to school

Kate Kelley



What made you choose your major?

I like being outside and I want to protect the environment. That’s why I’m majoring in biology. I want to make a difference in the world.


Did you always want to do this/why?

Yeah, pretty much, since high school at least. I’ve always enjoyed science and been pretty good in the subject.


What did you want to be when you were little?

I think I probably wanted to be a professional fisherman. I’ve been fishing since I could hold a pole in my hand. Even now, it’s one of my favorite things to do. It’s just a good way for me to escape reality for a while.


What made you decide to come back to school?

Working full time in construction making only minimum wage wasn’t very good for me. I like being outdoors, but not in bad weather. I would have to be working out in some extreme [weather] conditions. I especially disliked working in the freezing cold. It could also be pretty dangerous. We worked up to 130 feet in the air, and sometimes the wind would kick up. I realized that if I wanted a better job and future for myself, I needed to come back to school.


How do you like Crowder so far?

It’s okay, there’s not much to do, but it’s pretty easy. I enjoy most of my teachers, and I think I’m doing pretty well in my classes.


If you could change one thing about Crowder, what would it be and why?

I’d probably add some more activities. To me, there’s really not much to do besides play ping pong. I like ping pong, but, then again, you kind of have to. It would be cool if we had a flag football tournament every now and then.


What are you doing when you’re not at school? Work? Hobbies?

I don’t work anywhere right now. I’m just a full time student for now. I like to work out at the YMCA. Of course, I like fishing. I also like hunting, football, and basketball. Basketball is my favorite sport.


Are you involved in any outside activities, clubs, or organizations? If not, would you like to be? Which ones/why?

No, not right now. I’m not sure what I’d like to be involved in yet, it just depends on what comes up or whatever catches my eye. I thought about chess club. I’m pretty good at chess; I’ve been playing it since I was about six. I like checkers too, and I’ve probably been playing that game since I was four. Risk is my favorite board game.


You’re a commuter student, correct? What do you like/dislike about that? Would you rather stay in the dorms on campus?

Yeah, I live in Anderson. It’s only a 15-minute drive, so I don’t mind it too much. I get here pretty early, so the parking isn’t too bad for me either. The only thing I dislike is spending the gas money, but I like the freedom of being able to go home. I like having my mom’s home cooked food and being able to come and go wherever.


What’s the biggest transition you’ve had to make going from high school, to the full-time work force, to full-time college life?

I’d say the biggest difference between high school and college for me is probably just not being able to not study. I’m actually having to study and pay attention in class. Before it [high school] was easy, and now the teachers don’t really help you as much. They just tell you to read, so there’s a lot more work you have to do on your own.


What’s your favorite class so far and why?

I’d have to say my favorite class is Biology because it’s my major. It’s what I’m most interested in. I like my teacher, Mr. Reese. He’s fun to watch teach. We have labs every Tuesday which I enjoy because I really like hands-on work.


Where would you like to transfer when you finish here at Crowder?

I think I’d probably have to say Missouri State University in Springfield. They have a good conservation program. That’s where I was going to go before I decided to work full time instead. Now that I’ve decided to go to college, that’s where I want to go when I’m done here at Crowder.


So, why did you choose Crowder, and are you happy with your choice thus far?

I ended up choosing Crowder for my first college because it’s free for me. College is college; it’s good if you can pay less for it. It’s also nice that I’ve already got some friends here. I feel pretty comfortable here.


What would you like to do with your degree?

I want to become a conservation agent/game warden. I’d honestly do that kind of work anywhere.


Where would you like to work?

Missouri is my first choice because it’s my home state, and it’s given me so much that I feel obligated to protect it. But, Florida would be nice too, because it has an influx of a non-native species that is hurting the native populations. I feel like I could do a lot of good there.


What are some of your long-term goals?

My long-term goals right now are probably just finishing school, getting a good job, being able to support my future family, and being able to retire early so I can live in Canada later. Canada is a beautiful place with not a lot of people. I like having my own space.


What would you say your best quality is and why?

I’m friendly and funny. Everybody needs a friend. I’m that guy.


How many credit hours are you currently enrolled in for this semester, and how do you feel about your schedule/work load?

I’m enrolled in 15 hours, and it’s a pretty good work load. I did have 17, but then I dropped english. I was like “No, forget those papers; I’d rather do a math assignment.” I’m definitely better at math. Wednesdays are my busiest day of the week, but I manage my time well.


What’s the hardest part about college for you, or is it easy for you? If so, what steps have you taken to make your college journey smooth thus far?

It’s pretty easy besides having to study on your own and not everything being taught in class. I did get a bit overwhelmed with English, but since I dropped that class it’s been a lot easier for me to keep up with everything else. I spend a lot of time in the library. It’s nice and quiet. I can’t always focus when I’m studying at home, so it’s nice to have a place to go to study when I need to.


How do you like to relieve stress?

I work out and play ping pong. They’re both good ways for me to relieve stress and have fun.


What has been your favorite campus activity so far, why?

I think it’s probably been the free pizza, but the pie wasn’t too bad either. I got some cheesecake, and it was good. By the end, they were giving away free whole pies.


What’s your favorite local hangout/why/what do you do there?

I’d probably say the gym. I go to the YMCA, which is conveniently close to Crowder. I also go to Walmart. I like the produce section because I used to work there. Occasionally, I’ll go through there and look at fruit from time to time to reminisce.

Tim Mckirch, Biology Major

Tim Mckirch, Biology Major