Quill announces winners

Game_onOpen mic poetry event

The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a 4th annual campus- and community-wide poetry reading and luncheon. The event will take place Thurs., May 8 from 11-1 in the Wright Conference Center on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

The public is welcome. RSVPs for poetry are requested; others are welcome to the microphone as time permits. Poetry that is NOT published in this edition of the Quill is encouraged, as the magazine will be made available following the ceremony.

Awards ceremony planned

The event will also include the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2014 edition and awards presentations. See www.CrowderQuill.wordpress.com for a complete list of winners.

Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email Lbailey@crowder.edu or call 417-455-5410.

All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony. Afterwards, a light lunch will be served, and the magazine will be unveiled.

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

History and changesThe_Wonderous_Squirrel

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder, and the community. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography.
Entries are received online.

“One great advantage of the website is that photography, 2D art and even 3D art can be submitted online,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser. “There’s no need to bring it in or pick it up, and then it makes the magazine production easier for us as well because the entry is already in electronic form.”

However, if entrants prefer, they can still enter 2D and 3D art by hand, Bailey said.

Interested in entering next year? Check out this video:

Demo video

A Beaut of a FlowerQuill staff produced mag

Members of the 2014 staff are Taylor Best, Joplin; Karen Davidson, Pea Ridge, Ark.; Amelia Hill, Carl Junction; Aaron Kocurek, Neosho; Ryan Land, Neosho; Anissa Morris, Neosho; Joanna Savalza, Neosho; and adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.

The Crowder Quill recently received a national award of “Best Community College Literary Magazine” from the American Scholastic Press Association for the 2013 edition.
The Magazine Production class, Comm 111, is offered in the spring semesters; anyone is welcome, but Eng. 101 is a prerequisite.

For more information go to the Crowder Quill website:


Winners’ list

2014 Quill Winners list

To see the magazine in PDF form, click here:

All Quill 2014

Cover final

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Jessie Collins Alba
Charlene Bergen Anderson
Aaron D. Goldstein Anderson
Mary DuMond Anderson
Patti Richardson Anna, Texas
Joshua Q Dunn Aurora
Kim McCully-Mobley Aurora
Jessica Jenkins Aurora
J.Kent Allred Bella Vista, Ark.
Bryce Boyd Carl Junction
Jessica Sellers Carl Junction
Kayla Hopper Carl Junction
Emily Cole Carl Junction
Kaitlyn Gooch Carl Junction
Cary Crocker Carthage
Liz Spencer Diamond
Tyler Dallis Exeter
Jessica Cole Granby
Eli Cole Granby
Jessica Cole Granby
Lea Carter Granby
J.M.Cole Granby
R.L. Preston Greenfield
Briana Wilson Joplin
Erin Kennedy Joplin
Ruth Loy Joplin
Deanna Bingham Joplin
Aaron DuRall Joplin
Joseph Klink Joplin
Michael G. Jernigan Joplin
Ann Jernigan Joplin
Rose-Marie Speck Joplin
Sophia Miller Joplin
Cynthia Middaugh Lamar
Katherine Hackney Lockwood
Amy M. Sampson Monett
Dorice F. Baty Monett
Sofia Sanchez Salcedo Neosho
Christine Kernell Neosho
Allen Bishop Neosho
Joshua Smith Neosho
Tiffany Hamill Neosho
Tori Murray Neosho
Casey Stueber Neosho
Tori Murray Neosho
Aaron M. Kocurek Neosho
Casey Stueber neosho
Alec Fehring Neosho
Anissa Morris Neosho
Barry Charter Neosho
Alec Fehring Neosho
Leslie Wright Neosho
Vada Harris Neosho
Karissa Wiley Neosho
Joshua Foster Neosho
Sandy Jordan Neosho
Eric Lazure Neosho
Esther Aidelomon Neosho
James Walls Neosho
Josiah Reitz Neosho
Julio Gonzalez Noel
Cheyenne Pickett Oronogo
Gracen Frazier Oronogo
Alexandria T Andrews Pierce City
Brysten Duncan Pierce City
Payton Atchison Pineville
Nisa Moss Seligman
MarLeah Cole Seneca
Josh Leyva Seneca
MarLeah Cole Seneca
Brandi Pool Seneca
Shobi Burris Stella
Rebecca Hance Stella
Pam Dorton Verona
Abigail Danley Webb City
Susan Covert Webb City
Lyda Yang Wheaton
Marie Jones Wyandotte, Okla.