Quill ceremony and poetry reading May 7

The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a campus- and community-wide poetry reading and luncheon. The 35th anniversary event will take place Thurs., May 7 from 11:30-1 in the Elsie Plaster Community Center on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

Quill staff alumni will be recognized, and a dedication will be made to Jon Finley, who has printed the Quill since 1987 and will retire this summer.Quill layout

“This year’s ceremony marks a milestone for the publication, showing the longevity of a publication with a mission to encourage and showcase our area’s authors and artists,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.

The public is welcome. RSVPs for poetry are requested; others are welcome to the microphone as time permits. Poetry that is NOT published in this edition of the Quill is encouraged, as the magazine will be made available following the ceremony.

All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony. Afterwards, a light lunch will be served.

The Crowder Quill recently received a national award of “Best Community College Literary Magazine” from the American Scholastic Press Association for the 2014 edition, the second consecutive year for the prestigious award.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder students, and community adults. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography.

Entries are received online via the website www.CrowderQuill.com.

Members of the 2015 staff are Alexis Arenas-Andrade, Springdale, Ark.; Kerrigan Arnold, Reeds Springs; Alyssa Beck, Buffalo; Jacob Dalton, Anderson; Logan Hamby, Neosho; MaryBeth Hertzog, Pleasant Hill; Kate Kelley, Neosho; Ashley McGee, Jane; Sofia Sanchez Salcedo, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Owen Swearingen, Wheaton; Drew Young, Pierce City; and adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:


Kalee Sweeten


Kim McCully-Mobley

Ashley Sperandio

Mary Tacker


Bella Vista

Leandra Tuggle


Carl Junction

Bobby Beyer

Tarin Bruce

Chin-Li Chew

Mark Cole

Jessica Dean

Hannah Hoffman

Kenna Huffmaster

Olivia Klute

Erin Psajdl

Dayan Reynolds

Jessica Sellers

Bernadine Tyler



Brenda Martinez



Andrew Chartier



Katelyn Brisco



Shelby DeWeese

Dylan Flint

Dustin Miller

Liz Spencer



Tyler Dallis



Stormi Allen


Golden City

Zoe Rosenthal



Sandy Jordan

Mary Smith



Eli Cole

Jacqueline Cole

Aubrey McDermott



Chase Boyd

Amanda Calderon

Emily Cole

Tiffany Durbin

Joan Farmer

Mirana Heath

Ann Jernigan

Tiffany Kesinger

Joanne Kim

Randal “Chase” Kraft

Julie Krueger

Sophia Miller

Weston Moskalski

Breely Pilgrim

John Wheeler

Kathleen Wiley

Brandon Robertson

Billie Skelley



Ben Schnelle



Patrick Gorman

Amy Sampson

Jonathan St.Hilaire



Kate Besser

Becky Biehl-Wylie

Debra Brown

Angus Cumming

Alec Fehring

David Fehring

Joshua Foster

Madeline Giebler

Al Gritten

Skylar Howe

Alexis Hutchinson-Caddy

Aaron Kocurek

Tori Murray

Casey Stueber

LaRaeda Sullivan

Jesse Walls

Shelly Weems

Elizabeth Wilks

Leslie Wright



Kyle O’Bryan



Sarah Bodine

Henri Whitehead

Sandra Whiting



Samantha Berry

Johnathan Leach


Rocky Comfort

Katelyn Harriman



Calvin Ackerson

Christian Smith


Webb City

Connor Ames